'Breath Of The Wild’ Version 1.2 Adds 8 New Languages

The latest free update for The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild has arrived, and the biggest addition version 1.2 brings to the much-praised Nintendo Switch game ismore languages to choose from during cutscenes. Update 1.2 for Breath of the Wild also fixes and improves some gameplay features.

Here’s the official patch notes from Nintendo regarding version 1.2 of Breath of the Wild:

  • Various fixes to improve the gameplay experience.
  • A feature has been added that allows you to choose from nine language options for in-game voices. You can access this setting from the Options menu on the title screen.
  • Languages Available:
  • – Japanese
  • – English
  • – French (France)
  • – French (Canada)
  • – German
  • – Spanish (Spain)
  • – Spanish (Latin America)
  • – Italian
  • – Russian

If you own the Nintendo Switch version of Breath of the Wild, it will update to version 1.2 automatically if you are connected to a strong enough wifi connection. However, if you own the Wii U version, you’ll need to download a Voice Pack from the Nintendo eShop.

Here’s the official press release statement from Nintendo regarding the new languages added to Breath of the Wild.

“Starting today, players will be able to experience the game in one of nine audio languages [Japanese, English, French (France), French (Canada), German, Spanish (Spain), Spanish (Latin America), Italian and Russian], with a different language used for on-screen text by downloading a free software update. To enable this feature in the Wii U version of the game, players will need to download a Voice Pack from Nintendo eShop.”

To change your language, you simply have to go to the game’s options on the Title Screen. There, you can scroll down to the bottom of the page to change your language to one of the nine specified above.

breath of the wild language option You can change languages in ‘Breath of the Wild’

If you wish to change the language while you’re playing, you will need to return to the Title Screen. Save your progress before returning to the Title Screen and you can repeat the steps above to change your language

There is no option to change the subtitles, these will automatically generate based on your Nintendo Account’s origin.

Just in time for the upcoming DLC, this summer players will be able to enjoy a new Trial of the Sword mission after receiving the Master Sword. This is a new horde mode where wave after wave of enemies will appear. You’ll have to make it through 45 rooms to complete the Trial of the Sword.

A new Hard Mode will be added, which increases the difficulty of every monster in Hyrule. Just in case you didn’t think Breath of the Wild was difficult to begin with, Hard Mode will help scratch that need for competition and challenge. Link will also be able to receive new outfits and items that will help him on his journey in future DLC.

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild is available now for the Nintendo Wii U and Switch.

So what do you think of the languages added to Breath of the Wild? Do you mind reading subtitles while you game? Let us know your thoughts in the comments section below.