Google Play Pass expands to 24 new European countries


Since launching last year, Google Play Pass, Google’s subscription service for apps and games, has slowly expanded to more markets. It was first made available in the U.S. and then rolled out to nine more countries this summer. Now, right after the Pixel 5’s launch, Google is expanding the availability of the subscription service to even more countries around the globe.

More fun, less interruption. Google Play Pass, your ? to hundreds of games and apps without ads or in-app purchases, is coming to 24 new markets across Europe starting today #LaunchNightIn #PlayPass

— Google Play (@GooglePlay) September 30, 2020

Google Play Pass is expanding to 24 new countries, the company said on Thursday, including Sweden, Belgium and Croatia. The expansion comes on the heels of wider availability in Spain, New Zealand, and more. The full list of new countries getting Google Play Pass is down below, via Android Police:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Sweden

If you’re unfamiliar with Google Play Pass, it’s a monthly subscription service that provides users with access to over 500 apps and games without ads or in-app purchases. A monthly subscription costs $4.99, or you can get an annual subscription for $30. Apple has a similar service called Apple Arcade, which features a highly curated list of games that feature no ads or in-app purchases.

Google Play Pass features games like LIMBO, Stardew Valley, Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic and many other popular apps and titles. If you do subscribe to the service, you can see a list of supported apps and games by opening the side bar in the Play Store and tapping on “Play Pass.”

The post Google Play Pass expands to 24 new European countries appeared first on xda-developers.