We’ve all heard horror stories about leaving a social media account signed in on the wrong computer. At one point, these stories were quite common and were instrumental in training us to always log out of Facebook. If you do forget to log out of Facebook on a public computer, you can remotely end all sessions. The same holds true for Gmail but this is a feature few services offer. If you have left your Skype account signed in on a public computer, or a phone that is no longer in your possession, you’re likely looking for a way to end the session remotely. Skype has a simple little command that does the trick.
If you’ve left Skype signed in on a system or a device that you no longer have access to, the quickest and easiest way to end the session is to send the following command over any conversation. The command will not be visible to other people in the conversation.
This will immediately end all active Skype sessions on other systems and devices. It will end sessions on say your work system, or your iPhone or Android device. If you’re not certain you’ve left Skype signed in, there’s an easy way to check how many active Skype sessions you currently have. Send the following command over any conversation and you will see how many active Skype sessions you have. As with the previous command, it will not be visible to other people in the conversation.
This command returns a list of devices that you’re signed into. We observed that it wasn’t 100% accurate and sometimes failed to remove a session after it was ended. If you suspect you’ve left your Skype account signed in to a public system, go with the kill command to be safe. The commands can be sent from the Skype desktop apps as well as the Skype mobile apps.